Golden Eagle Awards

altSince 1996, the SAME Academy of Fellows has honored two outstanding Americans: a SAME Fellow for outstanding contributions to the engineering profession; and a prominent leader for significant contributions to national security.

In 2015, SAME expanded the award for Fellows to include outstanding contributions to the architecture, construction and engineering (A/E/C) professions. In doing so, Ms. Suzanne DiGeronimo became the first architect--and first female--to be honored with a Golden Eagle Award.

The Golden Eagle Award is presented annually at the Golden Eagle Awards Dinner, which takes place in the D.C. metropolitan area each spring. The award, like SAME itself, has a rich heritage.

History of the Golden Eagle Award

In 1782 the bald eagle was chosen as the emblem of our new nation because of its long life, great strength and majestic looks, as well as the belief that the bald eagle could be found only on the North American continent.

One legend says that another reason the bald eagle was chosen as the U.S. national emblem was that, during an early morning battle of the American Revolution, the noise of the struggle awoke sleeping eagles on the heights, who flew from their nests and circled above the heads of the fighting men. As they flew above, they bellowed raucous cries, causing the patriots to exclaim, "They are shrieking for freedom!"

President John F. Kennedy once wrote of this majestic bird, "The Founding Fathers made an appropriate choice when they selected the eagle as the emblem of the nation. The fierce beauty and proud independence of this great bird aptly symbolize the strength and freedom of America."

For these reasons and more, the SAME Academy of Fellows named its annual honor after this majestic symbol of American dedication and spirit to a greater good. The award was sculpted as a crystal eagle in flight above a solid wooden base, further symbolizing the strength and character of the individuals being honored.

Past Golden Eagle Award Winners

SAME Fellows Honored for Contributions to the Engineering Profession

  • 2015  Suzanne DiGeronimo, FAIA, PP
  • 2014  The Honorable James A. Rispoli, P.E., BCEE, F.SAME, USN (Ret.)
  • 2013  Col. James L. Lammie, F.SAME, USA (Ret.)
  • 2012  Brig. Gen. Ralph V. Locurcio, P.E., F. SAME, U.S. Army (Ret.)
  • 2011  Rear Adm. Benjamin F. Montoya, USN (Ret.)
  • 2010  William A. Brown Sr., P.E., HAIA, F.SAME
  • 2009  Rear Adm Jack Buffington, P.E., F.SAME, USN (Ret.)
  • 2008  Maj. Gen. Joseph A. "Bud" Ahearn, P.E., F.SAME, USAF (Ret.)
  • 2007  Col. F.H.“Bud” Griffis, Ph.D., P.E.,NAC, USA (Ret.)
  • 2006  maj. Gen. Charles E. Williams, F.SAME, USA (Ret.)
  • 2005  Rear Adm. David J. Nash, P.E., F.SAME, USN (Ret.)
  • 2004  Brig. Gen Gerald E. Galloway Jr., Ph.D., P.E., F.SAME, USA (Ret.)
  • 2003  Lt. Gen. Henry J. Hatch, P.E., F.SAME, USA (Ret.)
  • 2003  Charles H. Thorton, Ph.D., P.E., F.SAME
  • 2002  Brig. Gen. Forrest T. Gay III, F.SAME, USA (Ret.)
  • 2001  Frank H. Walk, D.E., P.E., F.SAME
  • 2000  Michael Haratunian, P.E., F.SAME
  • 1999  E. Manning Seltzer, F.SAME
  • 1998  Lt. Gen. John W. Morris, P.E., F.SAME, USA (Ret.)
  • 1997  Seymour S. Greenfield, P.E., F.SAME
  • 1996  Maj. Gen. Clifton D. Wright Jr., P.E., F.SAME, USAF (Ret.)

Prominent Leaders Honored for Contributions to National Security

  • 2015  Gen. Gordon R. Sullivan, USA (Ret.)
  • 2014  Lt. Gen. Theodore G. Stroup Jr., P.E., F.SAME, USA (Ret.)
  • 2013  Lt. Gen. Daniel W. Christman, USA (Ret.)
  • 2012  Gen. David H. Petraeus, Ph.D., USA (Ret.)
  • 2011  Adm. Thad W. Allen, USCG (Ret.)
  • 2010  Honorable Eric K. Shinseki
  • 2009  Lieutenant General Julius W. Becton, USA (Ret.)
  • 2008  Richard H. Carmona, M.D., M.P.H., FACS
  • 2007  Gen. Barry R. McCaffrey, USA (Ret.)
  • 2006  Adm. James M. Loy, USCG (Ret.)
  • 2005  Gen. Andrew J. Goodpaster, F.SAME, USA (Ret.)
  • 2004  Gen. Henry Hugh Shelton, USA (Ret.)
  • 2002  Stephen E. Ambrose
  • 2001  Honorable David Hobson
  • 2000  Gen. Ronald R. Fogleman, USAF
  • 1999  Senator Robert J. Dole
  • 1998  Honorable W.G. Hefner
  • 1997  Honorable Richard B. Cheney
  • 1996  Norman R. Augustine


Go to the top of the page