Post Notes

Northern Virginia Post awards students

The SAME Northern Virginia Post hosted Celebrating our Future Engineers to present scholarship awards to students. The event also featured SAME Camps presentations by high school students and the 2012 Arlington Diocese Science Fair NoVA SAME Award. Celebrating our Future Engineers was held August 2, 2012 at the Fort Belvoir Officers' Club in Fort Belvoir, Va.

Post President Capt. Jay Manik, P.E., F.SAME, USCG (Ret.), welcomed the attendees while Camps Chair William Kilpatrick, Ph.D., PE, CEng, LEED AP, HPE, moderated the 2012 SAME Camp Presentations. The 2012 Scholarship Awards were presented by Scholarship Chair Capt. Tom Christensen, USN (Ret.)

Congratulations to the following presenters and award recipients:

The 2012 SAME Camp presenters included:

  • Ashley Huynh – Robinson Secondary School U.S. Army Camp, Vicksburg, Miss.
  • Spencer Cobb – Yorktown High School U.S. Marine Corps Camp, Camp Lejeune, N.C.
  • Lauren Schwartz – Lake Braddock High School U.S. Navy Seabees Camp, Port Hueneme, Calif.

The 2012 SAME Northern Virginia Post Student Scholarship awardees:

  • Carlos Flores-Garay – George Mason University
  • Sean Lindenmuth – George Mason University
  • Vincenzo Basile – George Mason University

The 2012 Arlington Diocese Science Fair NoVA SAME Award was given to:

  • Sophia Gull, Corpus Christi School Project: Up, Up and Away

Learn more about the Northern Virginia Post by going to Click here to see the 2012 Celebrating our Future Engineers program.  

Go to the top of the page